Arlington Campus

About the Arlington Campus

George Mason University, established as a branch of the University of Virginia in 1957, gained independent university status in 1972 by an act of the Virginia General Assembly.

By developing the concept of the distributed university, Mason created an integrated network of campuses in Fairfax, Arlington, and Prince William counties, each with a distinctive academic focus that plays a critical role in its region. The Arlington Campus programs emphasize law, policy, economics, conflict resolution, social work, nonprofit management, initiatives in educational transformation, and global studies.

History and Development of the Arlington Campus



The Arlington Campus is a key component of George Mason University, a university that includes multiple campuses, each of which has a specific focus reflected in its course offerings.

The academic units currently represented at the Arlington Campus include:


For more information on any of the programs offered at the Arlington Campus, view the course offerings.


George Mason Learning Solutions

The Arlington Campus also offers a variety of courses and training through George Mason Learning Solutions, which promotes lifelong learning through the design and delivery of continuing professional education and training programs for individuals and organizations.